Before Orlando! · Uncategorized

My Application Process!

Ever Since I my Freshman year at The Univeristy of Alabama(UA), I talked about doing The Disney College Program.
As I continued on through college while working an hourly job, I was beginning to think that maybe I didn’t want to do the college program…

I was applying for jobs one Saturday afternoon, continuing on through the evening.  I was sitting in Starbucks with one of my friends and decided to apply out of sheer thought that I might regret not applying one day.  I went to dinner and checked my email later that night and got a web-interview, almost immediately. This was on February 11th, 2017.

You have 3 days to complete the web-interview. (Yes, THREE. Yes, it is an incredibly intimidating time frame.)  I took the web-interview on February 14th. You have 20 seconds to answer each question.  This seems intimidating, but it is not as bad as you think! So, I sat down and listened to the Tarzan Soundtrack (Phil Collins <3.) I finished the web-interview and immediately got asked to do a phone interview.

My tips on the web-interview—stay focused, tell your family/friends when you’ll be doing this (my dad called me in the middle of mine, but he hung up as soon as he knew what I was doing), honestly just turn your phone off, stay consistent in your answers, and stay true to who you are.

At this point, I was still weary on whether I was actually going to be doing DCP…I scheduled the phone interview for February 22nd.  When I scheduled my phone interview the first openings they had were the next week, that’s why I waited so long.  I prepared for my phone interview by looking up commonly asked questions…I didn’t get many of the questions that I had prepared for. Honestly, just know your top 5 roles, research them. Write down why you want to do each of these roles. If you have previous work experience on your resume, be prepared to talk about it. ALL OF IT.   My interviewer asked me about my internship from high school.  I’m a SENIOR in COLLEGE. I was not prepared for her to ask about what I did in high school, but I did the best I could.

All in all, I thought that my phone interview was AWFUL.  I was really upset about it.  Even though I thought that this was a possible back-up solution…it was still something that I have been thinking about and talking about for FOUR years.  My friends told me it probably wasn’t bad…but I’ve had phone interviews for other internships, I felt like they went smoother than this one…

So…I started the dreaded waiting game.  The one all applicants dread.. IN PROGRESS.

I applied for other jobs on the 25th of February.

It was the next Tuesday. The 28th of February.  I was studying for a test.  It was about 12:30pm.  I decided to check my email.  And saw THIS.

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 4.55.54 PM

My hands SHOOK. I started tearing up. Which, if you know me doesn’t happen often.

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 4.54.50 PM

In this e-mail you are prompted to your acceptance letter where it tells you your role.

I got Quick Service Food and Beverage.  Which gets abbreviated to QSFB.

At first, I wasn’t sure how I felt about this.  I’ve been working in a restaurant of some sort since I was 16.  I’m 21—22 in August.  So, I trust that you can do the math there.

I wasn’t sure that I was going to accept it.  I had 3 days to decide. (THREE– you have seven to pay your fees.)  But when I told one of my very best friends that I wasn’t sure.  She said to me:

“Why wouldn’t you do it?”

She also reminded me that it wasn’t a forever thing and if I didn’t like it, it was only a few months.  So if you are wondering if you should do it…remember that it is only temporary, if you want.  I talked to both of my parents. Both of which told me to do it.  It is Disney after all, and no matter what your major is, EVERYONE knows Disney. EVERYWHERE. As a hospitality major, there isn’t a better company for you to work for.

As the day progressed, I talked to some friends who have hopped on my roller coaster of a life through college and never hopped off.

A really great friend of mine told me “I truly can’t express how happy I am for ya and thank for letting me know and making me look like an idiot on the plane right now because of my smiling and fist pumping.”

In that moment, I realized that I hadn’t stopped frowning since I got my acceptance.

I took my test.

I went home and made a pros and cons list.  The pros outweighed the cons.

I slept on it. (If you don’t know, SLEEP ON IT.)

I accepted my offer on March 1st.

Another tidbit of information…this was an incredibly quick process for me.  I didn’t have to wait long…in fact if you look back on the dates and check your calendar, I waited 3 business days.  (Three seems to be quite the number for me.)   This is not the case for some people…honestly, probably a lot of people don’t hear back as fast as I did.  So, if you are in the dreaded state of IN PROGRESS. Don’t fret, you haven’t received a NLIC. And if you have..learn from your interviews…you know what to expect next time around.

Once I accepted and told my family and friends that were closest to me. Then I posted on Facebook.

And found the Facebook Groups. I seriously recommend this if you have been accepted.

This is my application story and the START to my Disney ADVENTURE.

I {hope} promise that other posts won’t be this long.

Also, for anyone who is wanting advice or wants someone to answer questions about their applications, web-interview, and/or phone interview, please feel free to ask and I’ll answer to the best of my ability.

I hope you will continue to follow me on my Disney Adventure.

walt inspiration

XOXO– Mo.

Leave a Reply

